Stem Cell Ridiculosity


Now, here is what rubs me. I just happened upon CSPAN today, what with the stem cell brouhaha, I stopped to listen to the Coalition for Churches making rules about what life is, blah, blah, blah, just out of curiosity.

I was plenty surprised at what I heard. The leader and first speaker, sounding very scientific, explained how, in the Bush era, that scientists were forced to find non-embryonic methods of stem cell research, that had coincidentally made embryonic stem cell research OBSOLETE. Can you believe it? I found that to be incredible. This nice fellow went on to explain how, scientifically, this research that Obama just decriminalized was UNNECESSARY. What a relief, and now we can just carry on, I suppose.
But it was not just him, no. This guy had an actual ‘scientist’ with him, to explain to the lay folk, just how this amazing discovery plays out, and how wrong it is to continue this obsolete method of stem cell research. He gave a WONDERFUL example of their logic too. He, the “expert”, told of how the scientific world has ALREADY, learned how to cure paralysis, and cancer with ADULT stem cells, which in turn obviously negates the use of embryonic stem cells. OH MY GOD, HOW WONDERFUL. Right?

I thought, well, that is too good to be true. But here he is, saying it, with authority, so what can you do? I googled it. You, know, just to see for myself. I mean this is a MAJOR breakthrough, singlehandedly changing the game plan, an answer the solves EVERYONE’S concerns. How fortunate, indeed.

I was bewildered, that this had not made FRONTPAGE news. I mean that is big, right? No abortion, moral, scientific issues? Why isn’t everyone talking about this??????

Because, and brace yourself, hold on—it is a lie. Yes, go do your own independent research, google it, and you will find, that the “research” that yahoo was speaking of, and what he CONVENIENTLY neglected to inform the people he was speaking to, i.e. the world, that those tests, he touted as the certain demise of the stem cell debate, were actually done on animals. Nothing I found, even hints at any success or diminishing utility of stem cell research for humans. Anyone, with half a brain can google, and see that the sin is in omission. This proves, that even the church folks, those who wish to provide the world with MORALITY, fudge a little, if it helps their cause.
Why is this important? Well, first, they carved their version of the truth out of its original package, and their voluntary omission of the entire truth of their “validating data” proves they do not trust you make up your own mind and expect you to accept their half truths without independent, logical verification, YET, they used a “scientist guy” to make it seem legitimate, EVEN THOUGH, their data is skewed, and their integrity is in serious question.

I expect politicians to lie, but by Krishna, don’t get a scientist to stand there and lie to me, and expect me to let that go.

He was backed by the church guy and some ladies holding babies, all which I consider complicit in this charade. Shame on you. Shame on you all, for bending the truth to suit your personal agendas. Shame on you for using science to lie. Booooo. Boo on you all.

I am just glad I had it in me to do some research, but what I found is despite our differences in opinion about morality, and science, the worst of this situation is that you are untrustworthy, and liars. So, when I ignore your pleas for “Moral” decisions, don’t get mad, because you just proved yourselves to be unfit to hold any moral authority, when you lied on CNN.
Shame on you. I bet God doesn’t like liars. Your God, does not like liars. Thou shall not bear false witness. It’s in the top ten.

About Janis Alanis

Thinker, BS detector, champion of Reason. Unafraid. Ticked off, and riled up. View all posts by Janis Alanis

Leave a comment