The End Of Days


Throughout every era of history I have studied in my Philosophic/Academic journey, there has been a polemic set up naturally of those for and those against (causes to be named). It is a natural occurrence. The yin and yang. The dark and light. Republicans/Democrats, Liberals/Conservatives. The West had its Legalists and Naturalists long after the East had set up the dichotomy. Not much has changed in the evolution of mankind’s thought, in fact, very little has.

A prevalent theme to arise, is that in times of economic/civil/natural upheaval a movement will erupt (mainly from fanatics who wish to scare the bejebus out of others into doing what they bid) that declares THE END OF DAYS IS NEAR and its minions are hell bent (pun intended) on proclaiming loudly and to anyone who will listen that the Apocalypse is bearing down upon us and that redemption requires repention. Now the comical irony of this is that in 8000 years of documented civilization, the world has NEVER ended. Proof? I am here.

But to say that we could extract a less literal meaning from these cautionary tales would seem more reasonable. In order to do so we must think metaphorically rather than literally. Every day the world ends to some degree for us when we fall asleep. And every day we awake to perhaps similar circumstances but with a whole new opportunity to make something of those circumstances. And in the history of mankind, it is fair to say that at times, the world as we knew it ended when a new era of our history began. For example, the age of the Enlightenment (mid 1600s-1790s) ended the Dark Ages (500 CE-1600 CE) of which both could be said brought and End of Days to their preceding eras.  So the folks who touted the end of days, metaphorically could have been correct, had they meant to be metaphoric. But sadly, most who espoused this fear provoking concept usually either truly believed the end of the world was near, or they used the certain fear they knew it would provoke to control the masses.

Having said that, what I am about to say relates to neither of those concepts but rather a serious determination about the state of affairs in this modern world.

=========================

THE END OF DAYS IS UPON US.

=========================

I do not mean to assert that a mighty mythical demon nor demigod is going to come and smite and judge us all while simultaneously parsing and delegating us to eternal damnation or bucolic retribution, no. I mean, America is done. We are finished. Democracy is dead. Corporations rule the Congress and our government is nothing more than a bully that shakes down its constituents while rolling like pigs in slop in the money they take from us and their fat cat support system.

We battle constantly not just against outer sources of threats but consistently amongst ourselves while politicians reap the benefits of our disjunction. America has failed itself and it has no one to blame but US.

In yet another twist of irony, this is exactly what our enemy wanted. Al Qaeda? They did little to us to provoke that which we will and have done to ourselves. They attacked US once, and then all they have had to do is sit back and laugh while we attack ourselves. How is that for divine justice? We made it easy for them. They stoked the fires of discontent and we daily throw logs and gasoline atop the mighty bon fire that was once a great country. I am beside myself with sorrow and grief for the loss of a country my father fought for, my mother fought for, that I have worked to beautify in every corner, that used to be the land of the free and the home of the brave. Today’s news tells me we are no longer either.

It will get worse before it gets better. Will it get Hitler worse?  Marie Antoinette worse? Empress Lu worse?  I do not know. But where we are heading is total self destruction. We are not United. And the State we are in is pathetic. How much longer do you suppose we can, with a straight face, call ourselves the United States of America?

My guess is not much longer. Prepare the secession proceedings, this vehicle is about to break down.

And while I do believe the threat is real, I am no doomsday prophet, after all it took the Dark Ages to usher in the Enlightenment. Here’s to the world making it through the inevitable nuclear holocaust and hopefully learning some lessons about reining in the divisive rhetoric before ignorance rules the world once more.

But what can you expect from a species that has not changed its politics in its entire existence? Not much indeed.

About Janis Alanis

Thinker, BS detector, champion of Reason. Unafraid. Ticked off, and riled up. View all posts by Janis Alanis

5 responses to “The End Of Days

  • melynda

    Wanna run away to Canada/Europe/South America with me?

  • Joe

    There’s a lot of stuff worth considering in this post. I’m not sure where to begin, but I think you are on to something. Whatever age we are in now is ending, and the age I see us entering is an age of extreme media and technology like we’ve never seen before. Not that we haven’t had media and tech in the past, but in the present time, we have media that has created its own narrative and uses itself as its own sources and proof. Both the left and the right do this. What’s worse– we automatically assume the other side is wrong because that’s part of the narrative we’ve been told. The age that we are entering, in my opinion, is one where the voices on the left and the voices on the right scream loudly and listen poorly, more so than ever before. We’ve gone from freedom of religion to mocking an entire religion.

    At the same time, the people I know who have viewpoints that are different than mine are good people. I’d trust them to take care of my home and my family. I just don’t trust their logic in how they vote and how they participate in our democracy.

    So perhaps– and this may not have been what you are trying to say– our new age in the 21st century is an age of overstatement. An age of 24-7/365 news media power that no longer reports the stories but makes up its own story and reports only those that support its narrative and distorts everything else.

    The neighbor and friend and co-worker that I so trust on a personal level is constantly exposed to this hyper-narrative. What will happen to us?

    And what the hell can we do about it?

    • Janis Alanis

      Oh Joe. Thank you for coming! What the hell can we do? I have spent all day immersed in the 24/7/365 due to the drastic travesties being perpetrated in the name of Democracy. And you know what? It depressed me. I did not leave my house today. I did not walk my dog. She was none to happy with me. But I felt paralyzed. The very idea that the Senate is holding DADT hostage with the ransom being tax cuts for their pimps sickened me to no end. I try to stave off apathy, but feel like my fighting this blatant hypocrisy is a Sisyphean curse. So, I took my heart off my sleeve and put it on wax, or rather blog. And I share. And I talk to people who make me realize that it’ll be ok. And I accept that people are going to do what they will, regardless of the consequences. (that they refuse to acknowledge) It is so absurd, you have to laugh or you will break. So tomorrow, I am not reading the news. I am breaking by will not lack of will. And that is all I have come up with. It is never as bad (or good) as we think. As a Buddhist, I have to let go of the turmoil and as a warrior I have to rest and reload.
      Just keep pursuing logic. What else can we do? At least you nor I am alone. We can go down with this ship together. In the end, people will get what they ask for so I will have plenty to pray for when they do. Bodhisattva vow. If anything, to a self proclaimed Logic Bounty Hunter, these honyoks give me job security. 😉

  • Azixoye

    Jesus said, “And this is the condemnation, that Light has come into the world, and people loved Darkness rather than Light, because their deeds were evil.” – Gospel of St John 3:19

Leave a Reply

