Morality.


This is a response to a huffpo thread that was moderated (surprise) but fortunately I copied it. It best represents a small part of my views on the illegitimate use of the Bible as a substitute for personal responsibility.

 

My morality does not come from a 2000 year old news report. When I determine what is right, it is by critical thinking that utilizes awareness, philosophy, science and compassion as a common sense. I cannot refute [your] quotes because you obviously wish to leave the burden of your choices and their ramifications at someone else’s door. I don’t do that. I own my mistakes. I do not praise or blame a book for my failings. So I am sorry, but your inability to express your moral system without the use of a guide written 2000 years ago precludes us from having any rational discussion on the matter of right and wrong in this Current Era. I shan’t waste another moment of your time.
St. Thomas Aquinas argued that the greatest gift God every gave humans was the Gift of Reason. I find it not only a shame, but the ultimate disgrace to God when humans disregard Reason in pursuit of segregation and intolerance. But that is between you and your God. Best of luck.”

About Janis Alanis

Thinker, BS detector, champion of Reason. Unafraid. Ticked off, and riled up. View all posts by Janis Alanis

Leave a Reply

